Program Description

Academic Schedule – Summer 2019

June 13 (Thu), 14 (Fri)
Placement tests & orientations
For the nights of June 13 and 14, HIF reserves rooms in the Hakodate Kokusai Hotel.
June 15 (Sat)
Opening ceremony. Homestay starts.
First Semester
June 17 (Mon)
First semester starts.
June 29 (Sat), 30 (Sun)
Overnight group trip to Onuma Quasi-national Park
July 10 (Wed)
In-class speech contest
July 11 (Thu)
Final examination
Semester Break
July 12 (Fri) - 15 (Mon)
Semester break
Second Semester
July 16 (Tue)
Second semester starts.
July 26 (Fri)
HIF speech contest
July 30 (Tue)
Independent study fair
August 8 (Thu)
Final examination
August 9 (Fri)
Closing ceremony & farewell party
August 10 (Sat)
Move-out day of homestay

Participants must arrive in Hakodate by noon of June 13, 2019 (JST). If your university operates on a quarter system and have a schedule conflict with the HIF program, you must let the HIF Office know before you apply.

During the homestay period (6/15-8/10), staying out overnight is prohibited even at another student’s home or at a hotel, except for the four-day semester break.

ApplyNow

Comments from Alumni

  • Name:
    Silin Chen
    University:
    Wesleyan
    University

    I think being able to join HIF is a very precious opportunity for me to be totally immersed in a Japanese-study environment. more

  • Name:
    Jack Conklin
    University:
    University of
    Chicago

    The HIF program is a great opportunity to improve your understanding of both Japanese and Japanese culture. more

  • Name:
    Laura Li
    University:
    Oberlin
    College

    One of the greatest things that I've learnt during my stay in HIF is "thinking in Japanese". more

  • Name:
    Meera Santhanam
    University:
    University of
    Chicago

    This program provides the perfect amount of structure - it's enough so that every day you are kept busy with classes, talks, and ... more

  • Name:
    Yuancong Xie
    University:
    Northwestern
    University

    HIF was an amazing opportunity to immerse myself in an all-Japanese environment. more

  • Name:
    Xinyu Zong
    University:
    Franklin &
    Marshall
    College

    HIF has been the best experience of my life. I woke up every day looking forward to host mom's breakfast and playing with her 4-year-old son. more

PhotoGallery
Contact Us
Transcripts for Alumni
TO PAGE TOP