Program Description

Academic Schedule – Summer 2018

June 14 (Thu), 15 (Fri)
Placement tests & orientations
For the nights of June 14 and 15, HIF reserves rooms in an accommodation facility in Hakodate.
June 16 (Sat)
Opening ceremony. Homestay starts.
First Semester
June 18 (Mon)
First semester starts.
June 30 (Sat), July 1 (Sun)
Overnight group trip to Onuma Quasi-national Park
July 11 (Wed)
In-class speech contest
July 12 (Thu)
Final examination
Semester Break
July 13 (Fri) - 16 (Mon)
Semester break
Second Semester
July 17 (Tue)
Second semester starts.
July 27 (Fri)
HIF speech contest
July 31 (Tue)
Independent study presentation
August 9 (Thu)
Final examination
August 10 (Fri)
Closing ceremony & farewell party
August 11 (Sat)
Move-out day of homestay

Participants must arrive in Hakodate by noon of June 14, 2018 (JST). If your university operates on a quarter system and have a schedule conflict with the HIF program, please let the HIF Office know before you apply.

During the homestay period (6/16-8/11), staying out overnight is prohibited even at another student’s home or at a hotel, except for the four-day semester break.

ApplyNow

Comments from Alumni

  • Name:
    Matthew Donley
    University:
    University of
    Michigan

    HIF is an outstanding program that offers not just instruction in the Japanese language, but it also serves as a gateway into Japanese culture...
    more

  • Name:
    Clarissa Krisnawan
    University:
    University of
    Washington

    There are various activities, you can enjoy at HIF. You can also discover the beauty of Hakodate City along with friends as well as your host family...
    more

  • Name:
    Alexander La Forest
    University:
    University of
    Notre Dame

    The HIF Japanese Language and Japanese Culture Program is worth every penny. Not only do you learn a lot in class, but also outside of...
    more

  • Name:
    Matthew Li
    University:
    Ursinus
    College

    I honestly can’t believe that it’s only been two months. Within this time, my Japanese isn’t the only thing that’s changed. Despite having plenty of experience...
    more

  • Name:
    Alex Prosi
    University:
    University of
    Michigan

    HIF truly excels in providing opportunities for its students wherever they need or want them. Through the program, I found myself...
    more

  • Name:
    Griffin Roth
    University:
    University of
    Chicago

    HIF was a lot of fun and very educational, from both a language and a cultural standpoint. If you’re interested in homestay...
    more

PhotoGallery
Contact Us
Transcripts for Alumni
TO PAGE TOP